Open and Private Information

From Infinity Wiki
Revision as of 12:53, 15 July 2019 by IJW (Talk | contribs) (FAQ)

Jump to: navigation, search

Information in an Infinity game can be either Open or Private.

Consider any piece of information on a player's Army List that is not explicitly Private as Open and knowable to all. You must share Open Information about your Army List while you deploy your models during the Deployment Phase, and also any time your opponent asks during the game.

Private Information is information you can keep to yourself that your opponent cannot ask about. Your Private Information remains secret until a specific game event forces you to disclose it.

You are required to write down all Private Information before the game starts to show your opponent if necessary.

These pieces of information are Private in Infinity:

Private Information about a trooper becomes Open Information when that trooper falls Dead and is removed from play as a casualty.

Gaming Etiquette
Checking all possible Lines of Fire for all figures and Markers on the table can be cumbersome. It is perfectly acceptable for a player to ask their opponent whether existing Lines of Fire could disrupt the declaration of a given Order before declaring it. Players are expected to share this Open Information in a truthful and sportsmanlike manner. Honesty and fair play are conducive to a better gaming atmosphere, and all players benefit from that.


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.3, Oct 2017
Q: If a Combat Group only contains troopers in Hidden Deployment or that are off-table with Airborne Deployment, do you have to indicate to your opponent that you have two Combat Groups?
A: Yes. The number of Combat Groups is Open Information.
Related Pages: Airborne Deployment, Combat Group, Hidden Deployment, Open and Private Information
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Is the Combat Group of a Marker (Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, IMP-1, IMP-2...) Open or Private Information?
A: It is Open Information.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, Combat Group, IMP-1, IMP-2, Open and Private Information, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Do Camouflage markers that do not represent a trooper (Mines, Ambush Camouflage decoys ...) belong to a Combat Group?
A: Yes. They are considered to belong to the Combat Group of the troops that have deployed them.
Related Pages: Ambush Camouflage, Camouflaged, Combat Group, Mines, Open and Private Information, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.7, Jul 2019
Q: How do Holoprojectors interact with Hacking?
A: In Holoprojector L1 state the Hackable Characteristic and any Hacking Devices the trooper has are considered Open Information when the trooper is inside the opponent’s Hacking Area.
Related Pages: Hacking Area, Holoprojector, Open and Private Information