Impersonation-2

From Infinity Wiki
(Redirected from IMP-2)
Jump to: navigation, search

Marker

Impersonation-2.jpg

Activation

Effects

  • While in the Impersonation-2 state, troopers are not represented by a model on the table but by an Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2).
  • Troopers cannot enter base to base contact with an Impersonation-2 Marker.
  • Enemies cannot declare Attacks against a trooper in the Impersonation-2 state.
  • In order to Discover an Impersonated-2 trooper, the enemy must pass a Discover Roll that applies no MODs.
  • Upon a successful Discovery, replace the Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2) with the user's figure.
  • If an enemy fails his Discover Roll, that enemy cannot attempt to Discover the same impersonator until the next (Active or Reactive) Turn.
  • In his Active Turn only, a trooper in the Impersonation-2 state may use the Surprise Attack Special Skill.
  • In his Active Turn only, a trooper in the Impersonation-2 state may use the Surprise Shot L1 Special Skill to declare a BS Attack or a Hacking Attack that benefits from the Surprise Shot L1 MODs.
  • Impersonation-2 Markers (IMP-2) have a 360˚ LoF.
  • Impersonation-2 Markers (IMP-2) retain the Silhouette (S) values printed on their Troop Profile.
  • This State does not affect Automatic Special Skills or Automatic Equipment.
IMPORTANT!

Enemies perceive an impersonator in the Impersonation-1 or Impersonation-2 state (IMP-1 or IMP-2 Marker) as an ally.

Cancellation

A trooper's Impersonation-2 state is canceled whenever:

  • The impersonator declares a Skill other than Cautious Movement or a Short Movement Skill that does not require a Roll (except Alert). In that case, replace the Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2) with the user's figure.
  • The impersonator declares a Surprise Attack or a Surprise Shot.
  • The impersonator enters base to base contact with a trooper. In that case, replace the Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2)[[]] with the user's figure.
  • The impersonator is Discovered. In that case, replace the Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2) with the trooper's figure.
  • The impersonator becomes Impetuous (due to the Frenzy Characteristic or any other effect) or enters Retreat! state. In either case, the trooper loses his ability to use the Impersonation Special Skill. The trooper recovers his ability to use the Special Skill when the Retreat! situation is canceled. However, the trooper does not revert to the Impersonation-2 state. To regain an Impersonation state, the trooper must follow the Activation rules of Impersonation-1 state.
  • Whenever you replace an Impersonation Marker with the trooper's figure, place the model facing a direction of your choice.
  • When you place a figure on the battlefield, you are required to share all Open Information relative to that trooper.
  • The cancellation of Impersonation-2 state is applied to the whole declared Order. So, if a Impersonated trooper declares a Move + BS Attack Order, he will be considered discovered all along his Movement, even if the BS Attack would be performed at the end of that Movement.


FAQ

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
A: Yes, it is obligatory.
Related Pages: Structure of an Order, ARO: Automatic Reaction Order, Camouflage, Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can Camouflage Markers be indirectly hit by Templates Weapons? How does this interact with Impersonation?
A: If you hit an enemy trooper not in Camouflaged state and there is an enemy Camouflage Marker inside the Area of Effect of the Template, then the Camouflage Marker would be affected too. However, with an Impersonation Marker you can not declare the Attack because it counts as a friendly trooper.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2, Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: How does Basic Impersonation work against alien races?
A: As stated on the rule (pag.80) in the sixth bullet point of Effects, the trooper can never adopt the Impersonation-1 state, the trooper with this Skill will instead start in Impersonation-2 state and when reactivating Impersonation state they will enter Impersonation-2 state.
Related Pages: Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: To discover a trooper in Impersonation-2 state, the rule states that the enemy must pass a Discover Roll that applies no MODs, does that include the Range MODs?
A: The Range MODs apply normally. The only MOD that does not apply is the -6 MOD for the previous Impersonation-1 state.
Related Pages: Discover, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: At the moment of delaying the ARO against an Impersonation Marker, if the Marker does not reveal itself with its second Short Skill, can I declare a Discover ARO?
A: No. It works in the same way as it does against Camouflaged troops, if the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, Discover, Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can a Hacker that acquired the Impersonation-2 state using the Hacking Program: Cybermask declare a Surprise Attack or a Surprise Shot?
A: Yes. As stated in the Impersonation-2 state Effects of the online version (updated from the Errata file), a trooper in this state may use the Surprise Attack or Surprise Shot L1 Special Skills.
Related Pages: Cybermask, Impersonation-2, Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a Hacker equipped with ODD uses the Hacking Program: Cybermask, does his ODD turn off? When will the ODD turn on again?
A: A trooper can only use or benefit from one Special Skill, piece of Equipment or Hacking Program with the NFB Trait or Label in the same Order.

When you use Cybermask, the ODD will turn off because this Equipment has the NFB Trait and any Special Skill or Equipment with this Trait or Label is incompatibe with any other Special Skill or Equipment that has the same Trait or Label.

The ODD will turn on when you cancel or turn off the effect of the Special Skill, Equipment, or in this case the Hacking Program, that produces the disconnection.

As an example, this means a trooper cannot benefit from the ODD and also the Surprise Shot provided by Cybermask in the same Order.

Related Pages: Cybermask, Impersonation-2, Negative Feedback, ODD, Surprise Attack, Surprise Shot
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Is the Combat Group of a Marker (Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, IMP-1, IMP-2...) Open or Private Information?
A: It is Open Information.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, Combat Group, IMP-1, IMP-2, Open and Private Information, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Can you choose to cancel game states that are the result of an optional Skill? For example Camouflaged state or an IMP state.
A: No, unless the Cancellation bullet points for the game state say that you can cancel the state voluntarily.
Related Pages: Camouflage and Hiding (CH), Camouflaged, IMP-1, IMP-2, Impersonation, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.5, Jan 2019
Q: Can I use a Coordinated Order to have several troops revert to different marker states? For example, Troops with Camouflage, TO Camouflage, Impersonation or Holoprojector.
A: One of the requirements of the Coordinated Order is that all the participating troops must declare and execute exactly the same Skills, so they could not combine Skills like Camouflage or Holoprojector.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, Coordinated Orders, Holoecho, Holoprojector L1 (State), Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2, TO Camouflaged
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.6, Apr 2019
Q: Can I declare two Discover skill against same marker in one Order?
A: No.
Related Pages: Camouflaged, Discover, IMP-1, IMP-2, TO Camouflaged