From Infinity Wiki
(Redirected from Partial Cover MOD)
Jump to: navigation, search

The term Cover refers to all pieces of scenery that partially or completely obstruct LoF, thus preventing the attacker from making a clean BS Attack.

Cover is an essential part of Infinity gameplay. We recommend you make sure the game table has plenty of scenery on it, so that troopers can use Cover to maneuver and advance. Official Infinity terrain and scenery is designed to play well with the Cover rules and make for an interesting tactical simulation experience.

There are two categories of Cover in Infinity: Partial Cover and Total Cover.

Partial Cover

Partial Cover partially blocks the attacker's vision of his target.


  • The target of the BS Attack must be in base contact with a piece of scenery.
  • For a piece of scenery to be considered a valid Cover, it must conceal at least a third of the target. This means that it must have a height that is equal to or higher than one third of the target's height, and must also cover at least the equivalent of one third of its base.
  • When in doubt, check the Silhouette (S) attribute of the target and its Silhouette Template to see the measurements of that minimum height and width.
  • When drawing LoF, the attacker must be able to see at least a part of his target the size of its head, approximately 3mm by 3mm (the size of the black squares on Silhouette Templates).


Total Cover

Total Cover completely blocks the attacker's vision of his target, obstructing any LoF.


For a trooper to be in Total Cover, one of these two must be true:

  • The pieces of scenery completely obstructs the attacking enemy's LoF.
  • The attacking enemy does not have LoF to the trooper.


  • Troopers cannot declare BS Attacks with weapons, Special Skills or pieces of Equipment that require LoF against a target in Total Cover.


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When do you choose which point of the movement path the BS Attack (or any other similar Skill) is performed?
A: In the Resolution step, when the players are about to measure distances. In case the order of declaration is important, the active player is the one who chooses who must declare it first.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: That means that if I declare my first Short Skill while in Cover, my opponents may declare their Attacks when this trooper is in Cover even if my second Short Skill is a movement that takes it out of that Cover?
A: No. The opponents will declare the Skills that they are going to use, with all the corresponding details. But the Attacks are made at the best point of the movement for the one who declares the Attack.
Related Pages: BS Attack, Cover, General Movement Rules, Structure of an Order
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.4, Sep 2018
Q: Does the Jammer ignore the +3 BTS granted by cover?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Jammer, partial Cover