ARO: Automatic Reaction Order

From Infinity Wiki
(Redirected from ARO)
Jump to: navigation, search

ARO: Automatic Reaction Order

In Infinity games, thanks to the Automatic Reaction Order (ARO) mechanic, players never stop making game-altering decisions. Even during their opponent's Active Turn, they can take actions as their figures and Markers react to enemies activating with Orders.

A trooper owned by the Reactive Player can declare an ARO if any of the following is true:

  • It has Line of Fire (LoF) to a trooper being activated by the Active Player.
  • An enemy trooper activates within its Zone of Control (ZC).
  • It has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment allowing reaction to enemy actions without LoF.

The Reactive Player must declare AROs for all eligible troopers immediately after the Active Player declares his Entire Order or the first Short Skill of his Order (see: Order Expenditure Sequence). Troopers that fail to do so lose their ARO against that Order. If, by declaring the second Short Skill of its Order, the active trooper gives ARO to enemy troopers that did not have ARO against the first Short Skill, then those enemy troopers can declare their AROs.

Each time the Active Player activates a trooper by spending an order, each eligible enemy gets one single ARO, regardless of the number of Skills the Active Player declares during that Order.

AROs must choose the trooper activated by the Order as their target.

Troopers cannot react to AROs, since only the Active Player's Orders give AROs and only the Reactive Player can declare AROs.

There is no limit to the number of troopers that can react to the activation of a single enemy trooper.

Using an ARO, the Reactive Player can only declare Skills that specifically state they are usable in ARO.


In Infinity, Orders and AROs are simultaneous regardless of the Skills declared.

For example, if an activated trooper declares Move + BS Attack and chooses to shoot from its starting position (taking advantage of a favorable Range), and its target reacts with a BS Attack, choosing to shoot at the end of the Movement (again, for Range purposes), then both actions are still considered to be simultaneous for all game purposes.

All AROs are also simultaneous. This means that, if a Camouflage Marker spends an Order to Move, its opponent can declare Discover with all troopers with LoF to it, but cannot declare Discover with one of the troopers and BS Attack with the rest, waiting for the Discover Roll to be successful (see: Camouflage and Hiding).


Restrictions on Zone of Control AROs.


Basic Rules

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: In the reactive turn, when can you measure the Zone of Control?
A: Following the steps of the Order Expenditure Sequence: you declare a ZoC ARO, and in the step of resolution, is when the players take measurements. So, is troop is in the ZoC, resolve his ARO, but if not, the ARO is lost.
Related Pages: Zone of Control, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can I return a shot in ARO if a troop attacks within the 180˚ front half base, but without LoF from the 180˚ front half base?
A: A troop have a LoF angle of 180˚, that is, they can see with the front half of their base.

LoF can be drawn from any point in the troop’s volume to any point in the target’s volume.

Because of this little nuance of troop / target, “If I can see you, you can see me” the target can draw LoF to the attacker troop when the attacker is within the 180˚ front half base of the target. In summary: For a miniature can ARO must be within its 180˚ front half base and be able to draw the LoF from those 180˚.

As we can see on the graphic, the Fusilier can draw a LoF from any point of his volume to any visible point of the volume of the Reverend. The Fusilier is within the 180˚ front half of the Reverend, but she can’t draw a LoF from her 180˚ front half, because the scenery block the line, so she can’t shoot.


Replaced with errata in FAQ 1.6, see main Line of Fire page text.

Related Pages: Line of Fire, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Is it obligatory to declare that the ARO is delayed when waiting for the second Skill when a troop in Camouflage or Impersonation State is activated?
A: Yes, it is obligatory.
Related Pages: Structure of an Order, ARO: Automatic Reaction Order, Camouflage, Camouflaged, TO Camouflaged, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: Can you delay the ARO with a trooper in Hidden Deployment?
A: Yes, but you have to place the TO Camouflage Marker, cancelling the Hidden Deployment state.
Related Pages: Hidden Deployment, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: An Auxilia and his Auxbot declares Move as first Short Skill of his Order. A Celestial Guard who only has LoF against Auxbot decide not to declare any ARO. With the second Short Skill, the Auxilia and Auxbot Move again, so that the Auxilia is now within the LoF with the Celestial Guard. Could the Celestial Guard declare an ARO against Auxilia now?
A: No, because the Auxilia and the Auxbot generated a single ARO as they possess the G: Synchronized Special Skill. Therefore, as the Celestial Guard has decided not to declare his ARO after the first Short Skill, he has lost the ability to declare any ORA against that Order.
Related Pages: ARO, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Fireteams in the Active Turn, Coordinated Orders, Structure of an Order


N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.2
Q: What happens when a Direct Template Weapon in ARO misses the target because it’s out of range? Does it affect the other troops inside the Template or does it get cancelled?
A: The Attack is cancelled.
Related Pages: BS Attack, ARO, Direct Template Weapon

Characteristics & Skills

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you declare a Dodge ARO even if the Order generating that reaction does not include an Attack?
A: Yes.
Related Pages: Dodge, ARO
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: At the moment of delaying the ARO against an Impersonation Marker, if the Marker does not reveal itself with its second Short Skill, can I declare a Discover ARO?
A: No. It works in the same way as it does against Camouflaged troops, if the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, Discover, Impersonation, Impersonation-1, Impersonation-2

Advanced Rules

N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When a group of troopers activate simultaneously (using a Coordinated Order or a Fireteam, for example), and they receive an ARO from a Template Weapon, does the attack affect all the troops that traverse the area of effect at any time during the Order, or does the Reactive Player have to declare the exact moment where he places the template, affecting only some of the targets?
A: The template affects all the troopers that get in contact with the area of effect during this Order, as everything happening during the Order is simultaneous.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, Template Weapon
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: When two or more troopers activate simultaneously, (through a Coordinated Order or Fireteam, for example) can one of them “hide” behind the others to avoid AROs?
A: No. Troopers don’t block LoF while moving.
Related Pages: ARO, Coordinated Orders, Fireteams in the Active Turn, G: Servant, G: Synchronized, LoF
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Does Stealth stop Hacking AROs if the Hacker doesn’t have Line of Fire?
A: Yes, it does. As stated in the rule, a trooper with Stealth that declares a Short Movement Skill or Cautious Movement Skill within the Zone of Control but outside LoF does not grant an ARO, so that prevents the Hacker from using any program, because that would be declaring an ARO.
Related Pages: ARO, LoF, Stealth, ZoC
N3 Frequently Asked Question FAQ Version: 1.1
Q: Can you Split the weapon’s Burst in a Reactive Turn with an active Hacking Program: Enhanced Reaction?
A: No.
Related Pages: ARO, Enhanced Reaction